Wolverton (Willen) 5 Mile Road Race 2018

Wolverton (Willen) 5 Mile Road Race 2018

Information and registration

25 November 2018

Marshall Milton Keynes AC

presents the 54th annual

Wolverton 5 Mile Road Race

Sunday 25th November 2018 at 11am

Including the Bucks County Short Road Running Championship and Eastern Masters Championships

Held under UK Athletics rules

Sponsored by Results Base and Body Limits

A fast flat course on traffic-free 'redways' at Willen Lakeside, Milton Keynes

The 54th Wolverton (Willen) 5 mile road race will be held on Sunday 25 November 2018, starting at 11am. This year the race will start and finish at a new position on Willen Lake (see map here).

And, just to confirm it, that is SUNDAY and not the 'traditional' Saturday and that the venue has also changed!

Prizes for:

  • First three men
  • First three women
  • Veteran man
  • Veteran woman
  • £200 for the first man to break 23 minutes and/or the first woman to break 26.20

Other prizes according to entries.

The wearing of personal stereos is not permitted in any race under UK Athletics rules. You run the risk of disqualification.

Open entry fee: £10.00 (£12.00 unattached)

Please note that during the registration process your British Athletics/UKA membership will be checked and if valid the appropriate discount will be applied. Scottish Athletics/jogscotland and Welsh Athletics members can also obtain the discount by entering their membership number into the appropriate field.

An administration fee of £1 will be applied to each entry by our online entry system partner, Results Base.

On-the-Day entries (subject to availability): £12.00 (£14.00 unattached)

Course time limit: 60 minutes


From Junction 14 of the M1 Motorway, head for Milton Keynes; At the first roundabout, turn right onto the A509; Over the first roundabout and at the second turn left onto the V10, Brickhill Street; Follow car parks signs into the Willen Lake car parks. Please note that these are pay and display (pay on exit).

UPDATED: The race registration and number collection (plus toilets and changing facilities) is now at the Willen Lake Splash Park, with the Start/Finish area on the Events Field in front of the Splash Park.

Please note that no numbers or information will be issued prior to the race. Numbers and chips can be collected on race day, so please allow sufficient time to collect your number.

History of the race

The first Wolverton 5 Mile Road Race was held in 1965 and has been held every year since that time, on the last Saturday in November. The early races were organised by the then Chairman and now President, Milford Callow, and his wife Rose holds the distinction of having officiated at every single race. The first winner was Mike Price (Bristol) in 24.10. The following year, this record was reduced to 23.34 by Tony Sunderland (Shaftesbury Harriers). This record held until 1969 until Ron Grove (Leicester Coritanian) reduced it to 23.20. This record held until 1980, despite some excellent performances from international athletes, Tony Simmonds and Ian Thompson (Luton). The 1980 race was a tremendous contest between international steeplechasers, Roger Hackney and Gordon Rimmer, with Rimmer getting the edge in 23.08. The biggest ever field in the Wolverton 5 was in 1981 when there were over 700 entries and 530 finishers.

By 1991, the two-lap course round the Wolverton Railway works was becoming heavily congested and the decision was taken to move the race to Willen Lake, where it has been held ever since. The course has remained essentially the same, involving two laps of fast, traffic-free redways. Registration/Numbers will be available at Willen Lakeside (near the Peace Pagoda) off Brickhill Street (V10) with ample parking. In 1992, British international, Alison Wyeth, recorded the super-fast time of 26.21. This was the fastest five-mile time by a woman in any British race in 1992 and remains the race record. The following year it was the men's turn when Justin Hobbs (Cardiff) ran the fastest five-mile time by a man in any British race in 1993, recording 23.01. In 1995 the course round Willen Lake was modified to improve the finish. The best times on this new course are 23.35 by Julien Moorhouse, set in 1999, and 26.36 by Liz Talbot (now Liz Yelling), set in 1996. Keith Cullen won the race in 2003 in 23:46. Prizes of £100 are offered to the first man to break 23 minutes and the first woman to break 26.20.

 Event information
25 November 2018
Willen Lake

Great Britain
Registration is closed


In case of questions about the event please contact MMKAC:

07717 027 218

Event Supporters